Q&A results: altitude: 33%, water: 26%, sunlight: 41%

The correct answer is: altitude.

Evolution is driven by the environment. In other words, a plant that grows in two different geological zones will develop distinct characteristics because the environment is significantly different. In a new environment, the operation of natural selection means that individuals who possess characteristics that are adaptive to the new conditions will be the ones that survive. In plants, this usually means they find favor with local pollinators, who are critical to their survival. This seduction campaign involves not only how attractive the flowers are – this is a popular research topic – but also the fragrance they emit. One of the rare studies done on this latter characteristic was conducted in the Swiss Alps by a group of Zurich scientists. It showed that differing selection pressures in the plains and the mountains resulted in regional differences in floral fragrance. 

The researchers studied more than a thousand individual plants of the orchid species Gymnadenia odoratissima over two seasons in three mountain and three plains regions, at various altitudes. They found that the flowers’ fragrance varied considerably and was stronger at lower altitudes. Other characteristics such as the plants’ height or the flowers’ color did not appear to exhibit significant variation due to altitude.

The researchers also studied populations of the orchids’ pollinators (primarily flies, butterflies, mites and beetles) in various locations, as they are considered the main driver behind this selective evolution, and found that they were different in the two geographical zones. The pollinators’ activity is thus likely a function of the volatile fragrances emitted by the flowers. For the scientists, these results suggest that this selection criteria is one of the evolutionary forces that contribute to regional differences in floral chemical signaling.

Source: PLOS One

Résultats des votes: l’altitude: 33%, l’eau: 26%, l’ensoleillement: 41%

 

Bonne réponse: l’altitude.

Une des dynamiques de l’évolution est l’environnement. Ainsi une plante, qui pousse dans deux zones géographiques différentes, développera des caractéristiques distinctes. Dans un nouvel environnement, une sélection naturelle s’opère et les spécimens qui possèdent les caractéristiques nécessaires aux ces conditions survivront. Chez les plantes, il s’agit surtout de plaire aux pollinisateurs locaux, indispensables à leur survie. Or, dans cette campagne de séduction, non seulement l’apparence de la fleur, thème largement étudié, joue un rôle déterminant, mais aussi son parfum. Une des rares études provient de chercheurs zurichois. Menée dans les Alpes suisses, l’étude montre que les différents schémas de sélection entre les régions de plaines et de montagne entrainent des différences régionales dans le parfum des fleurs.

 

Les chercheurs ont étudié plus de mille plants d’orchidées Gymnadenia odoratissima au fil de deux saisons dans trois régions montagneuses et trois régions de plaine, à différentes altitudes. Résultat: les signaux odorants varient considérablement, étant plus puissants en plaine qu’en altitude. En revanche, pour d’autres caractéristiques telles que la taille ou la couleur de la fleur, ils n’ont pas trouvé de différences significatives liées à la pression sélective.

Les chercheurs ont aussi étudié les populations de pollinisateurs (mouches, papillons, mites, coléoptères notamment) aux divers endroits, considérés comme les principaux responsables de ces évolutions sélectives. Ils constatent qu’elles divergent entre les zones géographiques, signe probable que les pollinisateurs opèrent leur choix en fonction des substances volatiles florales. Pour les chercheurs, ces résultats suggèrent que ce schéma de sélection est l’une de forces évolutives qui contribuent à la divergence régionale dans la signalisation chimique florale.

Source: PLOS One