Monday February 19, 2018 Q&A

How does baking soda get rid of bad smells?

Réponses

1 It traps the foul-smelling molecules

2 It releases a neutral odor that covers up the bad smell

3 It's a myth – it doesn't get rid of smells

Correct answer: It traps the foul-smelling molecules.

Baking soda is often described as a natural miracle product. Putting a bowl of this unassuming white powder in your fridge is supposed to rid it of any bad smells. But does this really work? We spoke with EPFL chemist Kevin Sivula to find out.

Baking soda is the common name given to sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO3), which is composed of sodium and hydrogen carbonate. It is a weak base with amphoteric properties, which means it can behave like either an acid or a base depending on the compounds it comes into contact with. So it can indeed neutralize unwanted odors. 

© iStockphotos

In a fridge, bad smells come from the volatile gas compounds that are released from food and make their way through the air to our noses. If they come into contact with baking soda, a chemical reaction takes place. The two molecules bind together, which neutralizes the smell – and it doesn't matter whether the odor comes from something acidic, like cheese or vinegar, or from something alkaline, like garlic. 

If there's enough baking soda to bind with all the volatile molecules in the fridge, the bad smell will be totally neutralized. However, once all the baking soda particles have been saturated, no more molecules can be absorbed. Other natural substances, such as coffee grounds and activated carbon, also produce the same deodorizing effect. 

A well-known property

Researchers in Malaysia have studied the effectiveness of baking soda in neutralizing the smells coming from organic waste. They found that 50 grams of this powder spread across the bottom of an eight-liter garbage can containing food waste can reduce the smell by around 70%. It also prevents bacteria from growing.

For more information: 
Preliminary observation on the effect of baking soda volume on controlling odour from discarded organic waste, Qamaruz-Zaman N. et al. Waste Manag. 2015 Jan; 35:187-90. doi: 10.1016/j.wasman.2014.09.017. Epub 2014 Oct 18.

Thanks to Kevin Sivula from EPFL's Laboratory for Molecular Engineering of Optoelectronic Nanomaterials

Question du lundi 19 février 2018

Pourquoi le bicarbonate de soude a-t-il un effet désodorisant ?

Réponses

1 Il séquestre les molécules malodorantes

2 Il diffuse une odeur neutre qui couvre les mauvaises odeurs

3 C’est une idée reçue, il n’a aucun effet désodorisant

Bonne réponse: 1, il séquestre les molécules malodorantes.

Le bicarbonate de soude est souvent présenté comme un produit naturel miracle. Placer une coupelle de cette étonnante poudre blanche dans un réfrigérateur suffirait à faire disparaître les éventuelles mauvaises odeurs. Idée reçue ou fait avéré ? Kevin Sivula, chimiste à l’EPFL, nous éclaire sur la question. 

Le bicarbonate de soude (NaHCO3) est composé de sodium et d’hydrogénocarbonate. Il s’agit d’une base faible aux propriétés amphotères, ce qui veut dire qu’elle peut se comporter à la fois comme un acide ou comme une base selon les composés avec lesquelles elle est en contact. Cette substance peut donc effectivement neutraliser les mauvaises odeurs. 

© iStockphotos

En effet, dans un réfrigérateur, les mauvaises odeurs sont dues aux composés volatils gazeux qui s’échappent des aliments et flottent dans l’air ambiant pour parvenir à nos narines. S’ils entrent en contact avec la poudre de bicarbonate de soude, une réaction chimique va se produire, lier les deux molécules et par conséquent neutraliser l’odeur – qu’il s’agisse de molécules odorantes acides, comme le fromage ou le vinaigre, ou basiques comme l’ail. 

Si la quantité de bicarbonate de soude est suffisante pour se lier à toutes les molécules volatiles en circulation dans le frigo, la mauvaise odeur sera neutralisée. Cependant, une fois que toutes les particules sont saturées, alors plus aucune molécule ne pourra être absorbée. Notez que cet effet désodorisant se produit également avec d’autres substances naturelles comme le marc de café ou le charbon actif

Propriété reconnue

En Malaisie, des scientifiques ont cherché à connaître l’efficacité du bicarbonate de soude pour neutraliser les odeurs provenant de déchets organiques. Selon leur étude, 50 grammes de bicarbonate de soude répartis au fond d’une poubelle de déchets alimentaires d’une contenance de 8 litres peuvent réduire l'odeur d'environ 70%. Il empêchera également le développement des bactéries.

Plus d’informations : 
Preliminary observation on the effect of baking soda volume on controlling odour from discarded organic waste, Qamaruz-Zaman N. et al. Waste Manag. 2015 Jan;35:187-90. doi: 10.1016/j.wasman.2014.09.017. Epub 2014 Oct 18.

Merci à Kevin Sivula du Laboratoire d'ingénierie moléculaire des nanomatériaux optoélectroniques de l’EPFL