Monday May 14, 2018 Q&A

Water rolls off lotus leaves because they are covered in:

Réponses

1 microscopic papillae coated with wax crystals.

2 cells that produce a water-repellent magnetic field.

3 different sized hairs that trap air and shed water droplets.

Correct answer: 1, lotus leaves are covered in microscopic papillae coated with wax crystals

It is widely known that lotus leaves repel water more effectively than the leaves of any other plant. When a water drop hits a leaf, instead of spreading out, it forms a nearly spherical bead that easily rolls towards the leaf’s center or edge. This unusual property is based on a physical phenomenon known as superhydrophobicity – also called the lotus effect. Let’s look at how it works.

Micro-roughnesses

To the naked eye, the large leaves of lotus plants appear perfectly smooth. But if you analyze one of these leaves under an electron microscope, you’ll see a complex microstructure. The surface of the leaves is covered in small clusters of cells called papillae, each measuring around ten microns. “The papillae in turn are covered with a dense layer of wax crystal tubules,” says Nathan Dupertuis, a PhD student at EPFL's Laboratory for Fundamental Biophotonics. “Because they are very short and thin, the tubules cover the surface of the papillae without any gaps.” These two layers of texture create a bumpy surface on the leaf. The effect on the drop of water is a little like when someone lies on a bed of nails: because of the very limited area of contact, it remains on the surface.

 

(a) Lotus leaves (b) Upper surface of a leaf as seen with a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (c) Close-up of the wax tubules

Photo credits: © 2011, Ensikat et al; licensee Beilstein-Institut.

Superhydrophobic surfaces demonstrate several other interesting features as well. “The contact angle – which is formed by the solid surface and the tangent at the surface of the drop – must be above 150°. This means, for example, that at an angle of 180° the droplet is perfectly spherical,” says Yves Leterrier of EPFL’s Laboratory for Processing of Advanced Composites. “What's more, the water droplet rolls very easily when the surface is tilted slightly.”

 

Self-cleaning

Superhydrophobicity gives the lotus plant an evolutionary edge. When water slides off a leaf, it carries away dust and dirt, leaving behind a pristine surface with no impurities – ideal for photosynthesis.

Lotus leaves are the prime – and best-known – example of natural superhydrophobicity, but similar properties have been observed in more than 200 plants, such as water lilies, nasturtiums and ginkgo bilobas.

The lotus effect was first described at the end of the 1970s by botanist Wilhelm Barthlott. Since then, bioinspired researchers and engineers have used it to create protective coatings, paints and “self-cleaning” textiles. Their aim is to create surfaces able to rid themselves of any type of contamination, not just water. Potential applications include car bodywork and seats, biomedical equipment and windows.

“In our lab, we are developing superhydrophobic surfaces that will be used in new types of food packaging to prevent the contents from sticking to the wrapper,” says Leterrier. “It may also be easier to recycle this type of packaging.” The project is being run in conjunction with the Lausanne University of Art and Design (ECAL) and funded by EPFL's Food and Nutrition Center. The lab’s approach is based on microscopic replication, where the leave’s physical features are printed in a resin that is then hardened using UV light. At this point, around ten plants have been analyzed, with the help of the Lausanne botanical garden. “We are currently working on rose petals. We were very surprised to see that yellow roses are superhydrophobic while red ones aren’t.”

For more information:

Superhydrophobicity in perfection: the outstanding properties of the lotus leaf. Hans J. Ensikat, Petra Ditsche-Kuru, Christoph Neinhuis and Wilhelm Barthlott. Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. (2011), 2, 152–161.

A Facile in Situ and UV Printing Process for Bioinspired Self-Cleaning Surfaces. González Lazo M.A., Katrantzis I., Dalle Vacche S., Karasu F., Leterrier Y., Materials, 9, 738 (2016). DOI: 10.3390/ma9090738.

Thanks to Nathan Dupertuis, a PhD student in EPFL’s Laboratory for Fundamental Biophotonics, and Yves Leterrier, at EPFL’s Laboratory for Processing of Advanced Composites.

Question du lundi 14 mai 2018

L’eau roule sur les feuilles de lotus car elles sont couvertes...

Réponses

1 de papilles microscopiques enrobées de cristaux de cire.

2 de cellules qui produisent un champ magnétique.

3 de poils de différentes tailles, qui piègent l’air.

 

Bonne réponse: 1, les feuilles de lotus sont couvertes de papilles microscopiques enrobées de cristaux de cire.

Les feuilles du lotus sont connues pour repousser l’eau comme aucune autre plante. Les gouttelettes ne s'étalent pas et forment des billes quasiment sphériques qui roulent très facilement vers le centre ou les bords de la feuille. Cette propriété exceptionnelle s’explique par des principes physiques. Elle est due à un phénomène de superhydrophobie appelé, précisément, effet lotus. Explications.

Micro-rugosités

À l’œil nu, les larges feuilles vertes du lotus ont l’air parfaitement lisses. Mais le microscope électronique révèle une microstructure complexe. Les cellules de la surface forment des protubérances, des papilles mesurant une dizaine de microns. Selon Nathan Dupertuis, doctorant au Laboratoire de biophotonique fondamentale de l’EPFL, «ces papilles sont elles-même recouvertes d’un dense tapis de cire cristallisée en tubes. Ils sont très fins et courts afin de recouvrir au mieux la surface des papilles, sans interstice». Avec ces deux niveaux de rugosité, la surface ressemble à un tapis de pointes. Comme le fakir sur son tapis de clous, les gouttes d’eau peuvent flotter à sa surface puisque la zone de contact avec les gouttes d’eau est minimale.

(a) Feuilles de lotus (b) Face supérieure de la feuille vue au microscope électronique à balayage (MEB) (c) Zoom sur les tubules de cire

Crédits photos: © 2011, Ensikat et al; licensee Beilstein-Institut.

Autre caractéristique techniques d’une surface superhydrophobe : «L’angle formé par la surface du solide avec la tangente à la goutte, c’est-à-dire l’angle de contact, doit être supérieur à 150°. Pour vous faire une idée, avec 180°, la goutte serait parfaitement sphérique, explique Yves Leterrier du Laboratoire de mise en œuvre de composites à haute performance de l’EPFL. De plus, la goutte d'eau doit pouvoir rouler très facilement dès qu'on incline un peu la surface.»

 

Autonettoyant

Pour le lotus, la superhydrophobie est un avantage évolutif. Quand l’eau glisse sur la feuille, elle emporte avec elle poussières et salissures et une feuille propre et sans impuretés à sa surface permettra une meilleure photosynthèse.

La feuille de lotus est l’exemple le plus fameux et le plus efficace de superhydrophobie naturelle, mais des propriétés similaires ont été observées sur plus de 200 plantes, comme le nénuphar, la capucine ou le ginkgo biloba.

L’effet lotus a été décrit pour la première fois à la fin des années 1970 par le botaniste Wilhelm Barthlott. Depuis, chercheurs et ingénieurs s’en inspirent pour créer par exemple des revêtements, peintures et textiles dits «autonettoyants» par biomimétisme. Au-delà de l’eau, on cherche à créer des surfaces autonettoyantes pour n’importe quel type de contamination. Parmi les applications possibles, citons les carrosseries et sièges automobiles, le matériel biomédical ou les vitres.

«Dans notre laboratoire, nous développons de telles surfaces superhydrophobes pour de nouveaux emballages alimentaires qui permettraient de récupérer la totalité du contenu sans perte, annonce Yves Leterrier. Cela pourrait aussi faciliter le recyclage de l’emballage.» Le projet se fait en partenariat avec la Haute école d'art et de design de Lausanne (ECAL) et est financé par le Food and Nutrition Center de l’EPFL. Il s'agit d'un procédé de réplication à l'échelle microscopique, où les détails de la feuille sont imprimés dans une résine qui est exposée à la lumière UV pour la solidifier. Pour l’heure, une dizaine de plantes ont été testées avec l'aide du jardin botanique de Lausanne. «En ce moment, nous travaillons avec des pétales de roses. Étonnamment, nous avons constaté que les roses jaunes sont superhydrophobes mais pas les roses rouges.»

Plus d’informations :

Superhydrophobicity in perfection: the outstanding properties of the lotus leaf. Hans J. Ensikat, Petra Ditsche-Kuru, Christoph Neinhuis and Wilhelm Barthlott. Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. (2011), 2, 152–161.

A Facile in Situ and UV Printing Process for Bioinspired Self-Cleaning Surfaces. González Lazo M.A., Katrantzis I., Dalle Vacche S., Karasu F., Leterrier Y., Materials, 9, 738 (2016). DOI : 10.3390/ma9090738.

Merci à Nathan Dupertuis, doctorant au Laboratoire de BioPhotonique fondamentale de l’EPFL et à Yves Leterrier du Laboratoire de mise en œuvre de composites à haute performance de l’EPFL.