Monday June 4, 2018 Q&A

Why do some roses have no smell?

Réponses

1 Because they aren’t endemic to the region

2 Because they’ve been refrigerated

3 Because they’re missing a gene

When we see a rose, we almost instinctively want to stop and smell it. But sometimes no sweet perfume comes forth. Roses lost their smell in the 1950s when growers wanted to breed varieties with more robust petals that could withstand refrigeration. This eventually spread from cut roses to garden varieties as well. But today the trend is reversing, as rose-lovers want a flower that is just as fragrant as it is beautiful.

Wild roses naturally smell sweet to attract bees so they can be pollinated. But they also produce compounds that repel insects so they won’t be eaten. The flowers’ fragrance is produced by hundreds of volatile compounds that we detect through tiny receptors in our nose. When roses are cultivated in greenhouses, growers both pollinate them and modify them in response to market demand and the latest trends. This selection process, carried out by using cuttings, has eliminated the stamens on some roses – meaning they are sterile and odorless.

Where does roses’ fragrance come from? To find the answer, a team of French scientists compared the genes of roses that do smell with ones that don’t. They found that a gene called Nudix hydrolase or RhNUDX is prevalent in the former group but absent in the latter. What’s more, this gene isn’t specific to roses but can be found in a number of other plants as well as bacteria and even human beings. It usually serves to clear toxins from cells, but in roses it is used to make geraniol – a key component of their fragrance.

Giving roses back their smell without altering their genes will require patiently crossing smell-producing varieties with odorless ones until a breed is found that has both robust petals and a sweet perfume. However, a great deal of research is still needed to pinpoint the two genes involved in this process.

http://science.sciencemag.org/content/349/6243/81.full?ijkey=W2JBniOQqRwjY&keytype=ref&siteid=sci

Question du lundi 4 juin 2018

Pourquoi certaines roses ne sont-elles pas parfumées ?

Réponses

1 Elles ne sont pas endémiques

2 Elles ont été réfrigérées

3 Il leur manque un gène

À la vue d’une rose l’instinct nous pousse à nous pencher et à la renifler, parfois, elle ne sent rien. Les roses ont perdu leur parfum dès les années 50 quand on a voulu modifier les fleurs pour rendre leurs pétales plus solides, capables de supporter le frigo. Le processus a été appliqué aux roses coupées puis aux rosiers des jardins. Aujourd’hui, la tendance s’inverse car les amateurs ne veulent plus seulement une belle rose, ils l’espèrent odorante.

Les roses sauvages produisent du parfum pour attirer les insectes et être butinées, elles expriment aussi des molécules répulsives pour ne pas être mangées. Ce sont ces centaines de molécules volatiles qui viennent se fixer dans les récepteurs de notre nez lorsqu’on les respire. En serre, c’est l’homme qui pollinise les plantes et les modifie en fonction des attentes du client, des tendances. À force de sélections, de bouturages, certaines roses n’ont même plus d’étamines, sont devenues stériles voire sans parfum.

Quelle est l’origine de ce parfum ? La question n’est pas anodine, il a fallu retourner dans les laboratoires pour percer son secret. En comparant les gènes des roses parfumées à celles sans arôme, des scientifiques français ont réussi à découvrir un gène, la Nudix hydrolase RhNUDX, très présent dans les roses odorantes et absent dans celles sans parfum. Étonnamment, ce gène n’est pas spécifique aux roses et existe dans de nombreuses plantes, mais aussi dans les bactéries et même dans les êtres humains. Il sert habituellement à détoxifier les cellules. La rose utilise ce gène différemment, elle s’en sert pour fabriquer du géraniol un élément du parfum.

Pour redonner du parfum aux roses, sans les transformer génétiquement, il faudra s’armer de patience et aider les croisements entre fleurs odorantes et fleurs sans fragrance, certaines présenteront la combinaison tant espérée qui allie robustesse et parfum. Mais de nombreuses recherches seront encore nécessaires pour identifier les deux gènes impliqués dans ce processus.

Article paru dans Nature
http://science.sciencemag.org/content/349/6243/81.full?ijkey=W2JBniOQqRwjY&keytype=ref&siteid=sci